About Montalto

A Rich History

From humble beginnings in the 1700's to the recent renovations, Montalto House and Estate are steeped in history.

New Beginnings

In 2010 Montalto became available to hire providing a unique location where guests have full use of the House and Estate for the duration of their stay. The ambiance is opulent and the welcome is warm. Relax and let us take care of you and your guests.

Explore Montalto

Historical Timeline

Click on the dates below for the milestones in the history of Montalto Estate

  • 1600

    Estate First Purchased

    Estate purchased by the Rawdon family.

  • 1765

    Original house built

    Original two storey house built by Earl of Moira, Lord Rawdon. The plasterwork on the ceiling of The Lady's Sitting Room, attributed to Robert West of Dublin still survives.

  • 1793

    The death of Lord Moria

    Lord Moira, a keen botanist, dies having planted circa 100,000 trees from around the world on the Estate.

  • 1798

    The battle of Ballynahinch

    12-13 June, United Irishmen fought government forces on Ednavaddy Hill.

  • 1803

    The Estate is sold

    The Estate totaling some 13,000 acres was purchased by David Ker.

  • 1837

    House extended & repaired

    House extended and repaired. The two storey building was enlarged to 3 stories by excavating around the basement. Stone farm buildings were built at this time.

  • 1850

    Ballroom added

    In the mid 1850's a new ballroom and service wing were added and to celebrate its completion in January 1857, a lavish ball was hosted with 800 invited guests.

  • 1872

    Alfred Ker inherits Montalto

    Alfred Ker inherited the Estate from his father now comprising some 27,850 acres.

  • 1877

    The death of Alfred Ker

    Alfred Ker dies and is succeeded by his brother Richard.

  • 1910

    Montalto Estate sold

    Richard Ker sold Montalto Estate to the Fifth Earl of Clanwilliam for £20,000.

  • 1941

    World War II

    US soldiers were stationed at Montalto during World War II between 1941 and 1945.

  • 1950

    Ballynahinch Golf Club

    Ballynahinch Golf Club formed (now known as Spa Golf Club) from land purchased from Montalto Estate.

  • 1953

    Ballroom demolished

    The Fifth Earl of Clanwilliam dies and his son inherited the Estate. The ballroom and servants quarters were demolished reducing the size of the house by half.

  • 1979

    Commercial Life For
    Stately Home

    The Estate was acquired by John Hogg Group and JP Corry.

  • 1985

    Fire at Montalto

    The local fire service brought the blaze under control and in doing so nearly emptied the lake at the front of the house. The East Wing and rear apartments are demolished.

  • 1994

    Purchased by current owners

    Over the next 15 years, the House, farm and gardens were restored to their former glory and served as a family home until 2009.

  • 2010

    Opened to the public

    An exclusive venue hosting business and leisure events under the supervision of the celebrated hospitality professional, David Anderson, MVO, MBE, formerly of Hillsborough Castle.